Horse Racing

Contents 2024

Date of Paper	Pages	Event Covered (New York Daily News)
8 June 1930	Pages 64 and back	Gallant Fox wins the Triple Crown
9 June 1935	Pages 32 and 37	Omaha wins the Triple Crown
6 June 1937	Pages 92 and back	War Admiral wins the Triple Crown
4 May 1941	Pages 86, 92 and back	Whirlaway wins the Kentucky Derby in record time
8 June 1941	Pages 94 and 96	Whirlaway wins the Triple Crown
6 June 1943	Page 88	Count Fleet wins the Triple Crown
2 June 1946	Page 84	Assault wins the Triple Crown
2 May 1948	Pages 41 and back	Citation wins the Kentucky Derby
13 June 1948	Page 87	Citation wins the Triple Crown
4 May 1952	Pages 102 and 106	Hill Gail wins the Kentucky Derby, jockey Eddie Arcaro's fifth win
19 May 1957	Pages 93 and 98	Bold Ruler wins the Preakness Stakes, jockey Eddie Arcaro's sixth win
16 June 1957	Pages 97 and 99	Gallant Man wins the Belmont Stakes in record time
10 June 1962	Pages 33 and 34	Jaipur wins the Belmont Stakes
3 May 1964	Pages 150 and 156	Northern Dancer wins the Kentucky Derby in record time
4 June 1967	Back page	Damascus wins the Belmont Stakes
8 May 1968	Pages 110 and back	Kentucky Derby winner Dancer's Image is disqualified
2 June 1968	Pages 142 and back	Stage Door Johnny wins the 100th Belmont Stakes
4 May 1969	Page 158	Majestic Prince wins the Kentucky Derby, jockey Bill Hartack's fifth win
6 May 1973	Pages 126 and back	Secretariat wins the Kentucky Derby in record time
20 May 1973	Pages 128 and back	Secretariat wins the Preakness Stakes
10 June 1973	Pages 1, 54 and 56	Secretariat wins the Triple Crown
5 May 1974	Pages 92 and back	Cannonade wins the 100th Kentucky Derby
18 May 1975	Pages 134 and back	Master Derby wins the 100th Preakness Stakes
8 May 1977	Back page	Seattle Slew wins the Kentucky Derby
22 May 1977	Pages 95 and back	Seattle Slew wins the Preakness Stakes
12 June 1977	Pages 113 and back	Seattle Slew wins the Triple Crown

		1
7 May 1978	Pages 111 and back	Affirmed wins the Kentucky Derby with 18-year-old Steve Cauthen
21 May 1978	Pages 103 and back	Affirmed wins the Preakness Stakes
11 June 1978	Pages 105 and back	Affirmed wins the Triple Crown
4 May 1980	Sports page 3	Genuine Risk is the second filly to win the Kentucky Derby
11 Nov 1984	Page 80	Wild Again wins the first Breeders' Cup Classic
4 May 1986	Pages 74 and 80	Ferdinand wins the Kentucky Derby, 54-year-old jockey Bill Shoemaker's fourth win
8 June 1986	Pages 56, 64 and back	Danzig Connection wins the Belmont Stakes, trainer Woody Stephens' fifth straight win
3 May 1987	Pages 55 and 74	Alysheba wins the Kentucky Derby
7 June 1987	Pages 46, 54 and back	Bet Twice wins the Belmont Stakes
22 Nov 1987	Pages 60 and 78	Ferdinand wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
8 May 1988	Pages 42 and 65	Winning Colors is the third filly to win the Kentucky Derby
12 June 1988	Pages 54, 72 and back	Risen Star, son of Secretariat, wins the Belmont Stakes
6 Nov 1988	Pages 96 and 112	Alysheba wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
7 May 1989	Pages 58 & 59	Sunday Silence wins the Kentucky Derby
21 May 1989	Pages 52 & 53	Sunday Silence wins the Preakness Stakes
11 June 1989	Pages 60 & 61	Easy Goer wins the Belmont Stakes
5 Nov 1989	Pages 62 & 63	Sunday Silence wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
6 May 1990	Pages 48 & 49	Unbridled wins the Kentucky Derby
7 June 1992	Pages 38 & 39	A.P. Indy wins the Belmont Stakes
6 June 1993	Pages 52 & 53	Julie Krone becomes the first female jockey to win a Triple Crown race, with Colonial Affair at the Belmont Stakes
29 Oct 1995	Pages 50 & 51	Cigar wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
4 May 1997	Pages 54 & 55	Silver Charm wins the Kentucky Derby
18 May 1997	Pages 76 & 77	Silver Charm wins the Preakness Stakes
9 Nov 1997	Pages 86 & 87	Skip Away wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
7 June 1998	Pages 64 & 65	Victory Gallop wins the Belmont Stakes
8 Nov 1998	Pages 86 & 87	Awesome Again wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
5 Nov 2000	Pages 60 & 61	Tiznow wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
6 May 2001	Pages 52 & 53	Monarchos wins the Kentucky Derby in the second-fastest time ever
10 June 2001	Pages 56 & 57	Point Given wins the Belmont Stakes

28 Oct 2001	Pages 86 & 87	Tiznow wins the Breeders' Cup Classic again
4 May 2003	Pages 54 & 55	Funny Cide is the first gelding to win the Kentucky Derby since 1929
2 May 2004	Pages 56 & 57	Smarty Jones wins the Kentucky Derby
16 May 2004	Pages 56 & 57	Smarty Jones wins the Preakness Stakes by a record 111/2 lengths
6 June 2004	Pages 58 & 59 and back	Birdstone wins the Belmont Stakes in front of a record 120,139 crowd
31 Oct 2004	Page 71	Ghostzapper wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
22 May 2005	Pages 62 & 63	Afleet Alex wins the Preakness Stakes
12 June 2005	Pages 56 & 57	Afleet Alex wins the Belmont Stakes
20 May 2007	Pages 60 & 61	Curlin wins the Preakness Stakes
10 June 2007	Pages 60 & 61	Rags to Riches is the first filly to win the Belmont Stakes since 1905
28 Oct 2007	Pages 68 & 69	Curlin wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
4 May 2008	Pages 48 & 49	Big Brown wins the Kentucky Derby
26 Oct 2008	Pages 48 & 49	Raven's Pass wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
3 May 2009	Pages 42 & 43	Mind That Bird wins the Kentucky Derby
17 May 2009	Pages 48 & 49	Rachel Alexandra is the first filly to win the Preakness Stakes in 85 years
8 Nov 2009	Pages 64 & 65	Zenyatta wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
7 Nov 2010	Pages 50 & 51	Blame wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
20 May 2012	Pages 54 & 55	I'll Have Another wins the Preakness Stakes
10 June 2012	Pages 58 & 59	Union Rags wins the Belmont Stakes
3 Nov 2013	Pages 60 & 61	Mucho Macho Man wins the Breeders' Cup Classic
3 May 2015	Pages 56 & 57	American Pharoah wins the Kentucky Derby
17 May 2015	Pages 54 & 55	American Pharoah wins the Preakness Stakes
7 June 2015	Pages 48 & 49	American Pharoah wins the Triple Crown
6 May 2018	Pages 50 & 51	Justify wins the Kentucky Derby
20 May 2018	Pages 52 & 53	Justify wins the Preakness Stakes
10 June 2018	Pages 50 & 51 and back	Justify wins the Triple Crown
6 Sep 2020	Back page	Authentic wins the Kentucky Derby
6 June 2021	Page 65	Essential Quality wins the Belmont Stakes
12 June 2022	Page 60	Mo Donegal wins the Belmont Stakes
21 May 2023	Pages 54 & 55	National Treasure wins the Preakness Stakes

5 May 2024	Pages 60 & 61	Mystik Dan wins the Kentucky Derby
19 May 2024	Page 61	Seize the Grey wins the Preakness Stakes

TOTAL PAGES 170